Organizational Excellence

Engage. Simplify. Enable the Mission



September 28, 2016

The UVAForward Organizing Committee receives the first team recognition award for Spotlight on Excellence.  The program is a way for peers to recognize individuals or teams that deliver quality while engaging the principles of Organizational Excellence.

UVAForward is an annual event designed for UVA professionals who wish to lead, learn, and collaborate.  In 2016 the scope of this event expanded from University Finance to also include Human Resources and Information Technology.  Over 300 professionals from across Grounds attended the conference which was rated as "excellent" by 71% of survey respondents.

The UVAForward team was recognized with the Spotlight on Excellence award for demonstrating excellence in customer service and building productive partnerships in its design and delivery of a powerful internal professional development conference.

Members of the organizing committee undertook extensive planning activities that included outreach to solicit input from stakeholders.  They developed partnerships with speakers in advance to ensure the program content was relevant through all aspects of the conference from registration to event day, they maintained a strong customer-orientation - employing numerous ways to make information and registration easy and accessible, guiding participants in the selection of sessions, and providing networking opportunities. The collaboration between team members and with stakeholders was exemplary and the long-standing impact through the development of others evident. 

Spotlight on Excellence is a peer recognition program open to all at UVA. Individuals or teams may be recognized for excellence in the following areas:

  • Leading improvement
  • Delivering high-quality customer service
  • Establishing productive partnerships

Full program information including on-line nomination form is available.

Image of UVA Forward Team

UVAForward Organization Committee - Keith Donnelly, Kirby Armentrout. Elizabeth Allan, Thomas Kim, Erika Priddy